Tags

, , ,

The Wafles Sur café is a puddle of bright yellow light on a dark San Telmo street. The pale pine tables and stools, bright red cushions and a couple of shabby-chic chandeliers call your attention on a gloomy autumn evening. I’m desperate for a place to sit down after a maddening journey downtown (whoever knew getting from Hurlingham to San Telmo in rush hour would take so long…) and because I see the brightly lit patrons have pints of beer in front of them.

Once I’m settled inside the cosy room I’m wondering if – hoping – the waffles will be Birds Eye Potato Waffles (“they’re waffly versatile”). I hadn’t realised I’d been missing Birds Eye waffles but now they are all I can think about. I order mine with Roquefort, cream cheese and ham and when no Birds Eye products make an appearance I am not surprised, but I am a little disappointed. However, the Wafles Sur waffles make a decent change from toasted bread and I am keen on Roquefort with anything. The cheesy topping with salad dressing has a refreshing tang of fresh black pepper; sadly lacking, in my opinion, on a lot of dishes.

I realise I have ordered, basically, a ham and cheese sandwich but there is always room for another ham and cheese sandwich in my life. Other waffly options on a meat and cheese theme include pancetta and cheese, beef and cheese, and plain old ham and cheese. Avocado makes an appearance and they advertise bacon, but I am wary of bacon. Sweet options are all kinds of fruits with dulce de leche. Washed down with a bottle of Gülmen Patagonian negra (dark) beer or a draft lager, the waffles make a filling, cheapish dinner ($18 pesos for the Roquefort waffles and $15 pesos for the beer.)

But I do see a gap in the market for a cafe in Buenos Aires serving frozen foods like Findus Crispy Pancakes, Birds Eye fish fingers and fishcakes, all served with Heinz baked beans and mushy peas. If only these import restrictions could be lifted to allow unlimited frozen foods from the UK….

Birds Eye Potato Waffles, they’re waffly versatile. But not available in Buenos Aires (pic from Birds Eye website)

Wafles Sur
San Telmo
Estados Unidos 509
http://www.waflessur.com/

